So I think I’m going to have a Social Life

I’m starting uni on Monday, basically tomorrow, oh my glob pray for me 😥 .

I also joined a club/students association based around Japan culture and Japanese stuff during O-week (Frosh Week, Welcome Week or Freshers’ Week whatever you call it).

What was I thinking??!!

I don’t know what drew me to that association stall to sign up. Maybe because they have an event each week? Or because they occasionally meet up with Japanese exchange students? Who knows. There was a $10 lifetime membership fee. I’m dumb. I’m a poor idiot who spends money on random things.

What I am still trying to get used to, is that I might actually start having a social life. Which is quite limited in my life for the last 19 years. So far, in the 4 month holiday I’ve been on after high school, I only went outside and surrounded myself with non-family people 3 times. Not including my Japan trip. So this is going to be quite a challenge for me since I find it hard to talk to people face-to-face and actually have a conversation.

Example:

During the first year of high school, Year 7, in my PDHPE theory class I sat next to a mate of mine. That time I had no idea who she was but my first impression was “Oooh she pretty, is she part asian? I think she is”, that was my 13 year old mind talking. I know, I’m an idiot. It actually took me around 3 months to actually talk to her. It all started with my lack of colour pencils and the school’s obsession with cover pages. Then after that it got better. But it took me 3 months.

Anyways, since the association will organise an event per week, two events have already been planned for this week and next week. Karaoke and laser tag with a couple of Japanese exchange students at the city on Sunday (today) and an Orientation BBQ in the city next Sunday.

ahahaha I don’t sing. I don’t even group sing. If you throw me out into a battlefield, I most likely won’t last 30 seconds. What am I doing?! ahaha 😥

If you are reading this on the Sunday this post is published, I will probably be in the middle of embarrassing myself in the city. In a group of people I don’t know. I know they go to the same uni as me. Probably won’t get abducted. I’m physically built like an average weak man. I am woman.

~Lila~

Leave a comment