Catching Up with the Mates

I was invited to a friend’s house to catch-up with the crew before we start university and college.

My main reason for going was actually because I like the food her family serves. The first three hours were spent on her Queen sized bed on our phones. Social media. No communication. With the exception of the occasional video sharing and laughing.

After that I went down to eat. Noodles! With soup and veggies and chillies, I like chillies 🙂 . Couldn’t take a photo because that would be really weird. But one word to sum up my overall rating of the food is:
“Omnomnomnom” :3
It’s weird that the food from other families tend to taste better. Or is it just me?

Afterwards, I went back up to sleep. I was wedged between two of my mates. One worked until 6am this morning and the other just wanted to sleep. Like me. We slept for around 3 hours while the others were downstairs singinf karaoke. For 3 hours. A while later, I went back down. They were still singing. But there was springrolls. That made me happy.

I was also introduced to a Year 8 student at my high school through Skype.

At this moment, the host friend, let’s call her Chipmunk, decided to re-dye the ends of her hair: the ends of her hair which were blue was fading, and another friend, let’s call her Chef decided to due it too, she dyed it some deep violet colour. When this was happening the Year 8 was serenading us through Skype. I helped. Mainly because of my many experiences in hair dying to cover up my grey hairs. Yes, I am 19. Had grey hairs since I was 11.

I also stayed ’til dinner with a few others. Her parents went out because they had a party and her brother’s family, 3 daughters and his wife, also went out to eat. Chef is training in college for hospitality and event planning, so she made the food. Ravioli with supposedly creamy sauce. When Chef was washing out her hair dye, she left the cooked ravioli in the sauce. Apparently that’s what was supposed to happen. But Chipmunk didn’t know that. So she turned on the stove. I was sitting at the couch watching Night at the Museum 2 on tv when that happened. But something smelt burned. We went to check. There was egg in the sauce. In the end we had ravioli in cheesy scrambled eggs. Not as bad as it sounds, if you ignore the burnt bits. The Year 8 was still serenading us when we were eating. Chipmunk’s cousin also came over to eat. He was nice.

It’s nice hanging out with friends. Even if we’re doing something so mundane.

What is something you do with your mates?

~Lila~

Leave a comment